Skip to Content

Premium Databases

Premium subscription resources paid for by Roselle Public Library and available FREE to patrons of the Library.

Click here to access these resources from outside the Library (at home links)
You will be prompted for your 14-digit Library card number and your PIN. (If you need to establish a PIN, please call the Circulation Desk, 630-529-1641, ext. 222)

Databases by title:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | i | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

America the Beautiful

America the Beautiful Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
A part of the Grolier Online subscription, this resource is organized as an interactive map of the United States. Topics range from Native Americans to U.S. Presidents. Also includes games for children, an almanac and a timeline for easy reference.

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition Logo (In-Library-only link)
One of the most important genealogical collections available today, Ancestry has unparalleled coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. This collection includes more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names.

The Library also provides access to HeritageQuest Online, which is available outside the Library)

AtoZdatabases: Search Jobs, Businesses or Mailing Lists

AtoZdatabases Logo(In-Library link) (at home link)
The Premier Job Search, Reference, and Mailing List Database. The database includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

Chicago Tribume

Chicago Tribune Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
The Chicago Tribune database provided by Proquest, includes full text articles from Jan. 1, 1985 to the present. Users have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper, including obituaries and death notices to help find ancestors, relatives, and notable figures.

ChiltonLibrary

ChiltonLibrary Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
Learn more about ChiltonLibrary.

ConsumerReport.org

ConsumerReport.org Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Find ratings for 5,000 products including cars, appliances, electronics and more. Consumer Union has been comparing, testing and reporting on products since 1936.

Current Biography Illustrated

Current Biography Illustrated Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Current Biography Illustrated is provided by WilsonWeb and reflects the entire contents of the printed monthly Current Biography. Find reliable information about the people making tomorrow’s headlines plus historical figures back to World War II. With more than 15,000 full text biographies, more than 9,400 obituaries and more than 19,500 images.

EbscoHost

EbscoHost Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
EbscoHost provides full text for more than 350 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 500 periodicals.

FirstSearch/SILC

FirstSearch/SILC Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
FirstSearch/SILC (Statewide Illinois Library Catalog) provides access to the combined holdings of OCLC member-libraries in Illinois, as well as a rich collection of reference databases including periodical indexes, MEDLINE, World Almanac, and WorldCat (the combined holdings of OCLC member-libraries worldwide).
Access to FirstSearch/SILC is provided by the Illinois State Library.

Grolier Online

Grolier Online Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Grolier Online Passport, created for older students and adults, provides quick and easy access two encyclopedia databases: America the Beautiful and The New Book of Popular Science, as well as dictionaries, an atlas and daily news features.
Access an alternative kid-friendly interface, Grolier Online Kids, from the Kids page.

Heritage Quest Online

Heritage Quest Online Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
A collection of resources, including census images, for tracing family history and American culture. Great for beginning or accomplished genealogists!

LegalForms

LegalForms Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
The most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.
Learn more about Gale LegalForms.

Warning: Public users should consult an attorney in your state for serious legal matters.

Little Pim - Language Learning for Children

Little Pim Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Little Pim, a partner of Mango Languages, "stars" a lovable animated panda and features native speakers, excellent pacing, varied activities, and great concept groupings, to make the language learning process fun and easy.

Mango Languages

Mango Languages Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Mango is the fast, easy, and most effective way to learn to speak a foreign language! Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective.
Try Mango Mobile! Get the iPhone® , iPod Touch® and Android™ apps here.
Note: Register for a Mango account before using the apps. See "how-to" here.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Morningstar Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Online access to Morningstar Investment Research Center lets you research more than 20,000 stocks and mutual funds; build and analyze an investment portfolio; and learn about stocks, mutual funds and portfolios.

The New Book of Popular Science

New Book of Popular Science Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
A part of the Grolier Online subscription, this resource describes the concepts of science, medicine, and technology in words and illustrations readily understandable to a young audience.

NoveList

NoveList Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
The ultimate reader's advisory website. Locate books to read, learn more about books and authors, and find author read-alikes, feature articles, book discussion guides, and book talks.

NoveList K-8

NoveList K-8 Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
NOTE: At home users: NoveList K-8 may not work correctly with Internet Explorer 8, or newer. If you are using Internet Explorer 8, or newer, click on the "Compatibility View" button to the right of the address bar at the top of the browser before clicking on the link to NoveList K-8.
A resource for students and teachers, NoveList K-8 contains information on fiction titles for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles.

Record Information Service

Record Information Service Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Illinois Public Records provided by Record Information Services.
Scroll through public record data for the areas of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry and Will counties, including real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community and help safeguard your biggest investment - your home. Sort by name, city, zip code, and more.

ReferenceUSA

Reference USA Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
From finding old friends and planning vacations to conducting market research and choosing a health care provider, this extensive database offers the information you need -- in a fast, convenient format. Contains detailed information on more that 12 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. residents.

Roselle History Museum Digital Archive

Roselle History Museum Digital Archive (In-Library & at home link)
Partnering with the Roselle History Museum, the Library hosts a digitized collection of historical artifacts that illustrate the growth and development of Roselle, IL.

Tumblebooks Library

Tumblebooks Library Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Tumblebooks Library is a online collection of books and games for children and young adults including: animated storybooks; "read-on-your-own" story, chapter and YA books; life learning stories; language learning books; and puzzles and games.
See a demonstration of Tumblebooks Library.

Tutor.com Student Center

Tutor.com Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
Got homework? Need help preparing for the GED, college entrance exams, Grad school entrance exams, Citizenship tests? Are you updating your resume and cover letters? Tutor.com can help you with all of that and more!
The Tutor.com Student Center (formerly Live Homework Help) has resources for all ages, elementary students through adults.
One-on-one help from live tutors is available 4 pm-10 pm, daily. In addition to live help, the new Skills Center Resource Library provides 24/7 access to thousands of worksheets, tutorials, study guides and more.

World Book Web

World Book Web Logo (In-Library link) (at home link)
An encyclopedic database of more than 25,400 articles from the World Book Encyclopedia; 248,000 definitions of words from the World Book Dictionary; and a media database of audio, maps, panoramic photographs, videos and animations.